IMSTEC2020 – Plenary Speakers

The IMSTEC2020 organising committee is delighted to announce that Prof. Wanqin Jin (Nanjing Tech University, China) and Prof. Claus Hélix-Nielsen (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark and AQUAporin ApS) will join the conference as Plenary Speakers. Prof. Jin and Prof. Hélix-Nielsen will present their recent outcomes on different aspects of membrane science, including composite membranes and forward osmosis technologies. More information on the IMSTEC2020 plenary speakers and their distinguished careers can be found in the short bios below.


Prof. Wanqin Jin is a professor of Chemical Engineering at Nanjing Tech University and RSC Fellow. He served as the Editor of Journal of Membrane Science since 2017. His research focuses on membrane materials and processes. He has over 300 refereed publications including Nature, Angewandte Chemie, Advance Materials and Journal of Membrane Science with 11,000+ citation, 2 monographs and 40 patents. In 2018, he received the first prize of Natural Science Award granted by Ministry of Education of China. His research has been recognized by the IChemE (UK) Underwood Medal for his global-leading research in the area of separation in 2019.



Prof. Claus Helix-Neilsen After receiving his PhD in biophysics from the Technical University of Denmark in 1993 he had postdoctoral positions at the Royal School of Agriculture and Veterinary Science in Frederiksberg, Denmark, the August Krogh Institute at the University of Copenhagen, and Weill Medical College Cornell University New York City. In 2000 he became assistant professor at the University of Copenhagen and in 2003 associate professor at the Technical University of Denmark. From 2006  to 2018 he also served as CTO in the Danish company Aquaporin A/S and 2017-2018 also CEO of Aquaporin Asia Pte. Ltd. Singapore. From 2014 he has also been Head of Laboratory for Water Biophysics and Membrane Processes, University of Maribor, Slovenia. In 2018 he became Professor in Water Technology and Innovation at the Department of Environmental Engineering at the Technical University of Denmark where from 2019 he is Head of Department.  He is member of the Danish Natural Science Academy from where in 2013 he received the Industrial Prize. In 2014 he received the  European Inventor award 2014 in the category: small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) from the European Patent Office for his work on aquaporin biomimetic membranes.