MSA Election 2021

Dear MSA Members,

The MSA Board is pleased to notify all the MSA Members that a new round of MSA Board elections will be held from Monday, November 1 to Monday, November 15.

The timeline and the guidelines for this current electoral round are highlighted in the present correspondence.

MSA Director Nomination Form – 2021.

  1. Available MSA Board seats

The current MSA Board includes 10 Board Members plus the MSA Secretary. Based on the status of current directors below, a total of 4 vacant positions will be advertised. The status of the MSA Board is presented below.

  1. Status of MSA Directors

Up for Re-election

  • Hokyong Shon (Elected in July 2018, stepping down)
  • David Wang
  • Filicia Wicaksana
  • Faisal Hai

Elected in 2020

  • Geoffrey Johnston-Hall
  • Xiwang Zhang
  • Zongli Xie
  • Leonard Tijing                                
  • Stefan Smith
  • Andrea Merenda

In reference to the current MSA Board, in accordance with the MSA Constitution, current Directors are automatically nominated for re-election unless written notice is given to the contrary. Prof. Hokyong Shon, current MSA President, has expressed his intention to step down from the MSA Board and will not participate in the elections.

The MSA Board would like to thank Prof. Hokyong Shon for his remarkable contribution and support to the MSA throughout his tenure. Prof. Shon’s leadership and vision have been instrumental to design and carry out the strategic actions and achieve the ambitious milestones set over the past 3 years. The MSA Board looks forward to engaging with Prof. Shon in the future and benefiting from his mentorship.

If a Director does not wish to be automatically nominated for re-election, an official notice of intent to retire shall be returned to Dr. Federico Volpin ([email protected]) or to Dr. Andrea Merenda ([email protected]) by the nomination closing date.

  1. Eligibility Criteria
  • All MSA Members holding a valid MSA membership expiring not before Monday, October 11 2021 can be indicated and nominated as Candidates.
  • Individual, Student and Honorary memberships are automatically granted eligibility rights.
  • Eligible Candidates are nominated through a nomination form that shall be signed by two MSA members. The nominations shall be returned to Dr. Federico Volpin ([email protected]). Dr. Volpin may prompt the Nominees to provide additional information, including a short biography to be added to the official ballot form.
  • In the case of MSA Corporate Members, only one Member per Corporate membership can be indicated as Eligible Candidate. The nomination form referring to an MSA Corporate Member shall be signed off by two MSA Members that do not share the same MSA Corporate membership as the Nominee.

Director Election timeline


Event Date
MSA Call for Elections Monday, 06/09/2021
Nomination sheet distributed among MSA Members Monday, 13/09/2021
MSA call for nominations open Monday, 13/09/2021
Call for nominations close Monday, 11/10/2021, COB
Notification of acceptance Wednesday, 13/10/2021
List of Candidates published Friday, 15/10/2021
Elections start Monday, 1/11/2021
Elections close Monday, 15/11/2021
Elections outcomes Friday, 19/11/2021
MSA Annual General Meeting (AGM) Thursday, 25/11/2021


If the number of nominations received, including those from Directors for re-election; exceeds the number of vacant positions; elections will be held via an online vote system. If required, details of the voting system will be distributed after nominations close.

If you have any enquiries regarding the MSA elections, including nominations of Members, please do not hesitate to contact me.


All the best,

Federico Volpin

Secretary of Membrane Society of Australasia

Filicia Wicaksana
Senior Lecturer/Dr

Articles by Filicia